An annex of the Waterloo Library, Terwilliger Hall was opened in 1960. It was named for Waterloo resident Charles P. Terwilliger whose will provided a substantial bequest for the purpose of establishing a museum. A trip through the Terwilliger Hall is a journey through the history and development of Waterloo. Photographs and maps from as early as 1806 depict the lay of the land and give a sense of what life was like in the village at the turn of the century. Visitors can see a replica of a general store, authentic full-sized vehicles, Native American artifacts and a display of Waterloo firsts, including pianos and organs manufactured in Waterloo. Currency, antique guns, medical instruments, dolls and a unique display of early funeral customs are a sampling of other exhibits.