The Waterloo Library building was designed in 1880 by the architectural firm of Nichols and Brown, Albany, New York. The floor plan included library space and Society office space on the first floor. The second floor was devoted to a “Lecture Room”, also referred to as a “Performance Hall” complete with a raised stage and tiered seating for approximately 150 patrons. The design of the second floor was unique for the time period in that it created a fully open space, unencumbered by supporting pillars or posts that would obscure the view of the stage. The room is named Fatzinger Hall after the local prominent businessman Thomas Fatzinger who was a chartered member of the Waterloo Library and Historical Society on 1875 and was a major benefactor in raising funds for the construction of the library building. Mr. Fatzinger died before the library was opened to the public. By action of the Society Board of Trustees on March 24, 1884, the second floor area was named Fatzinger Hall. The room was very active from the 1880’s through the 1920’s with musical recitals, speeches and civic gatherings. The hall was closed to public gatherings in the late 1920’s because of newly enacted fire regulations. (The second floor was served by only a single staircase). The area was re-opened in the 1970’s when a second exit and fire escape were constructed. In recent years, activities in Fatzinger Hall have included plays, music performances, lectures, children’s programs and weddings.